A thousand Twitter followers – the impossible dream finally comes true

I’m very happy to share with all of you guys that I have finally reached a thousand Twitter followers last week. This is the best present ever for my name day which is on Saturday – I’m also George, but don’t you ever call me like that, because no one does and I won’t answer back for sure and for good. 🙂

I didn’t imagine that this would ever happen when I started the Programming Apprentice website almost half a year ago back at the end of October on my father’s birthday. I thought that only my mother and aunt would read my tutorials, reviews and articles – they are both English teachers (I’m from Romania, so I’m not an English native speaker), so they proofread everything I write, even though they don’t quite understand what I write about.

Now, almost half a year later, I can’t believe what I have accomplished in such a short amount and period of time. I have written twenty four posts so far: fifteen tutorials (eight of them are part of a very successful series), five articles and four reviews. I have almost four thousand page views and one thousand five hundred unique visitors from all over the world (Africa included – a big thank you to Christine Abernathy and Jack Jones for their help with this – only the Antarctica penguins haven’t visited the website yet 🙂 ). I have testimonials from people that I admire a lot, have great respect for and who are really good at what they are doing and my tutorials have also been retweeted by them – a big thank you to Andy Bargh and Sofia Husak for their help with this. I have released my first tutorial at AppCoda – a big thank you to Simon Ng for making this happen – and I have joined the Swift team at raywenderlich.com and will release my first tutorial there soon as well. I am also working on my Swift course and will start teaching at Simplon Romania soon – a big thank you to Roxana Rugină for making this happen. I am working on a technical newsletter, technical podcast, video tutorials and technical book as well and have plans to speak at a technical conference in the near future.

So how did I manage to do all this after all – that is the question – I ask myself that a lot actually because I never believed it could actually be possible to come this far and that I would ever make it up to this point and that far eventually after all. Before starting my very own technical blog, I didn’t read any other technical blogs and I wasn’t subscribed to any technical newsletter of any kind whatsoever. I actually didn’t care about any kind of stuff like that at all. Now I am subscribed to a dozen really good technical newsletters – the best of them is Natasha Murashev’s as known as the Robot This week in Swift which I read each and every single Monday and never miss a single issue of it. I also study a lot of really good technical blogs, resources, videos, tutorials, podcasts, frameworks and books – the best of them manage to make it on the Blogs I Read page on the website, so make sure to visit it on a regular basis, because I update it weekly.

I have always enjoyed writing and programming, so writing tutorials came quite naturally out of the box by combining the two, since it’s the best way to learn, grow and improve both as a professional and as a human being. There are many people I have to thank for their help with this blog – some of them are mentioned here. My family deserves all the credit in the world for their support with absolutely everything and for believing in me even when I don’t believe in myself anymore and even if they don’t quite always understand what I am trying to do, achieve and accomplish, but they still however manage somehow to do trust me and have faith in me no matter what that I know what I am doing and everything is going to be just fine in the long run.

But my biggest thank you of all goes to two people – without them this blog wouldn’t have existed for sure. The first one is John Sonmez, the founder and creator of the Simple Programmer website and community. John has created the best blogging course ever – it helped me a lot to see things clearly and I strongly recommend it to anyone who wants to start their own technical blog and boost up their career to the next level. A big thank you John for everything and I really do hope that I make good use of the Simple Programmer badge, brand, banner and logo which is displayed on the website’s front page.

The second one is Ray Wenderlich, the founder and creator of the best iOS development and Swift programming tutorials website and community in the whole world. Ray is a great friend and a person I admire and respect a lot for everything he has accomplished – I have learned a lot from him and he has helped me in many ways. The thing that helped me the most and had the greatest impact on me was his Overloading the comparison operator the right way speech at AltConf 2015 – if you ever watch only one more speech for the rest of your entire life, make sure that this is definitely the one to watch – no doubt about it – since it’s a life changer. Ray talks openly and freely like no one other about the greatest fear we all have when trying to accomplish something – the fear of constantly comparing ourselves to others and being afraid of trying to do anything at all or something different because of just that. It helped me stop comparing myself to anyone and just focus only on what I have to and I can do well and do the best I can instead and for a change. This helped me to eventually power shift and gain the courage, strength and neural pathway to publish my first tutorial – I haven’t looked back and stopped ever since. A big thank you Ray for everything you have done for me over the years – I hope that I make you proud with everything I do! 🙂

My next goal is five thousand Twitter followers and then ten thousand – I now know that it’s really possible and not just a nice dream anymore because I see it clearly happening and taking place on my vision board one day. Thank you all from the very bottom of my heart and soul for reading my blog and making the impossible possible after all – you rock, are simply great, wonderful and the best. I promise you all that I won’t stop here and I will never give up no matter what since this is just the beginning. Don’t stop believing in yourself and your wildest dreams no matter what – just dream big, make it happen and everything is going to be just fine. Happy coding everyone, keep up the good work and take care – let’s make this world a better place to live in by doing the right thing, showing the others that we care and doing the best we can in everything we do! 🙂

Posted in Articles

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to receive notifications of new posts by email.

Simple Programmer
